Skip to main content

Deleting an organization account

When you delete an organization, all repositories, forks of private repositories, wikis, issues, pull requests, and Project or Organization Pages are deleted as well. Your billing will end, and after 90 days the organization name becomes available for use on a new user or organization account.

Tip: If you want to cancel your paid subscription, you can downgrade your organization to GitHub Free instead of deleting the organization and its content.

1. Back up your organization content

After you delete an organization, GitHub cannot restore your content. Therefore, before you delete your organization, make sure you have a copy of all repositories, wikis, issues, and project boards from the account.

Note: If the account namespace includes any packages or container images stored in a GitHub Packages registry, GitHub deletes the packages and container images when you delete your account. By deleting your account, you may break projects that depend on these packages and images.

If the account namespace includes any public container images with more than 5,000 downloads, the full name of these container images (NAMESPACE/IMAGE-NAME) is permanently retired when you delete the account to ensure the container image name cannot be reused in the future.

2. Delete the organization

  1. In the top right corner of GitHub.com, click your profile photo, then click Your organizations. Your organizations in the profile menu
  2. Next to the organization, click Settings. The settings button
  3. Near the bottom of the organization's settings page, click Delete this Organization. Delete this organization button