Usually, if someone deletes a repository, it will be available on disk for 90 days and can be restored via the site admin dashboard. Unless a legal hold is in effect on a user or organization, after 90 days the repository is purged and deleted forever.
If a repository was part of a fork network when it was deleted, the restored repository will be detached from the original fork network.
It can take up to an hour after a repository is deleted before that repository is available for restoration.
Restoring a repository will not restore release attachments or team permissions. Issues that are restored will not be labeled.
- From an administrative account on GitHub Enterprise Server, click in the upper-right corner of any page.
- In the search field, type the name of the user or organization and click Search.
- In the search results, click the name of the user or organization.
- In the Repositories section, click the Deleted repositories link.
- Find the repository you want to restore in the deleted repositories list, then to the right of the repository name click Restore.
- To confirm you would like to restore the named repository, click Restore.