Skip to main content

Deleting a project (classic)

You can delete an existing project (classic) if you no longer need access to its contents.

Notes:

  • Projects (beta), the all-new projects experience, is now available. For more information about Projects (beta), see "About Projects (beta)."
  • You can only create a new project (classic) for an organization, repository, or user that already has at least one project (classic). If you're unable to create a project (classic), create a project instead.

Tip: If you'd like to retain access to a completed or unneeded project (classic) without losing access to its contents, you can close the project (classic) instead of deleting it.

  1. Navigate to the project (classic) you want to delete.

  2. On the top-right side of the project (classic), click Menu.

  3. Click , then click Edit.

    Screenshot showing the project menu. The edit option is highlighted with an orange outline.

  4. Click Delete project.

  5. To confirm that you want to delete the project (classic), click OK.

Further reading