Skip to main content

Deleting a project (classic)

You can delete an existing classic project if you no longer need access to its contents.

Notes:

  • Projects, the all-new projects experience, is now available. For more information about Projects, see "About Projects" and for information about migrating your classic project, see "Migrating from Projects (classic)."
  • You can only create a new classic project board for an organization, user, or repository that already has at least one classic project board. If you're unable to create a classic project board, create a project board instead.

Tip: If you'd like to retain access to a completed or unneeded classic project without losing access to its contents, you can close the classic project instead of deleting it.

  1. Navigate to the classic project you want to delete.
  2. On the top-right side of the classic project, click Menu.
  3. Click , then click Edit. Edit option in drop-down menu from project board sidebar
  4. Click Delete project. Delete project button
  5. To confirm that you want to delete the project board, click OK.

Further reading