Skip to main content

Closing a project (classic)

If you've completed all the tasks in a classic project or no longer need to use a classic project, you can close the classic project.

Notes:

  • Projects, the all-new projects experience, is now available. For more information about Projects, see "About Projects."
  • You can only create a new classic project board for an organization, repository, or user that already has at least one classic project board. If you're unable to create a classic project board, create a project instead.

When you close a classic project, any configured workflow automation will pause by default.

If you reopen a classic project, you have the option to sync automation, which updates the position of the cards on the board according to the automation settings configured for the board. For more information, see "Reopening a closed project (classic)" or "About automation for projects (classic)."

  1. Navigate to the list of classic projects in your repository or organization, or owned by your personal account.
  2. In the projects list, next to the classic project you want to close, click . Screenshot showing the projects index. The project menu icon is highlighted with an orange rectangle.
  3. Click Close.

Further reading