Skip to main content

This version of GitHub Enterprise Server will be discontinued on 2024-08-29. No patch releases will be made, even for critical security issues. For better performance, improved security, and new features, upgrade to the latest version of GitHub Enterprise Server. For help with the upgrade, contact GitHub Enterprise support.

Managing projects (classic)

Learn how to create and manage projects (classic)

Note

  • Projects, the all-new projects experience, is now available. For more information about Projects, see "About Projects."
  • You can only create a new project (classic) for an organization, repository, or user that already has at least one project (classic). If you're unable to create a project (classic), create a project instead.

About projects (classic)

Projects (classic) on GitHub Enterprise Server help you organize and prioritize your work. You can create projects (classic) for specific feature work, comprehensive roadmaps, or even release checklists. With projects (classic), you have the flexibility to create customized workflows that suit your needs.

Creating a project (classic)

Projects (classic) can be used to create customized workflows to suit your needs, like tracking and prioritizing specific feature work, comprehensive roadmaps, or even release checklists.

Editing a project (classic)

You can edit the title and description of an existing project (classic).

Linking a repository to a project (classic)

You can link a repository to your organization's or personal account's project (classic).

About automation for projects (classic)

You can configure automatic workflows to keep the status of project (classic) cards in sync with the associated issues and pull requests.

Configuring automation for projects (classic)

You can set up automatic workflows to move issues and pull requests to a project (classic) column when a specified event occurs.

Changing project (classic) visibility

As an organization owner or project (classic) admin, you can make a project (classic) public or private.

Closing a project (classic)

If you've completed all the tasks in a project (classic) or no longer need to use a project (classic), you can close the project (classic).

Reopening a closed project (classic)

You can reopen a closed project (classic) and restart any workflow automation that was configured for the project (classic).

Deleting a project (classic)

You can delete an existing project (classic) if you no longer need access to its contents.