Removing a collaborator from a personal repository

When you remove a collaborator from your project, they lose read/write access to your repository. If the repository is private and the person has created a fork, then that fork is also deleted.

If you're using GitHub Free, you can add unlimited collaborators on public and private repositories.

In this article

Did this doc help you?

Help us make these docs great!

All GitHub docs are open source. See something that's wrong or unclear? Submit a pull request.

Make a contribution

Or, learn how to contribute.

Deleting forks of private repositories

While forks of private repositories are deleted when a collaborator is removed, the person will still retain any local clones of your repository.

Removing collaborator permissions from a person contributing to a repository

  1. On GitHub, navigate to the main page of the repository.

  2. Under your repository name, click Settings.

    Repository settings button

  3. In the left sidebar, click Manage access.

    "Manage access" tab

  4. To the right of the collaborator you want to remove, click .

    Button to remove collaborator

Further reading

Did this doc help you?

Help us make these docs great!

All GitHub docs are open source. See something that's wrong or unclear? Submit a pull request.

Make a contribution

Or, learn how to contribute.