Deleting your personal account removes all repositories, forks of private repositories, wikis, issues, pull requests, and pages owned by your account. Issues and pull requests you've created and comments you've made in repositories owned by other users will not be deleted.
If the account namespace includes any packages or container images stored in a GitHub Packages registry, GitHub deletes the packages and container images when you delete your account. By deleting your account, you may break projects that depend on these packages and images.
If you're the only owner of an organization, you must transfer ownership to another person or delete the organization before you can delete your personal account. If there are other owners in the organization, you must remove yourself from the organization before you can delete your personal account.
For more information, see the following articles.
- "Transferring organization ownership"
- "Deleting an organization account"
- "Removing yourself from an organization"
Before you delete your personal account, make a copy of all repositories, private forks, wikis, issues, and pull requests owned by your account. For more information, see "Backing up a repository."
Warning: Once your personal account has been deleted, an enterprise owner cannot restore your content.
In the upper-right corner of any page, click your profile photo, then click Settings.
In the left sidebar, click Account.
At the bottom of the Account Settings page, under "Delete account", click Delete your account. Before you can delete your personal account:
- If you're the only owner in the organization, you must transfer ownership to another person or delete your organization.
- If there are other organization owners in the organization, you must remove yourself from the organization.
In the "Make sure you want to do this" dialog box, complete the steps to confirm you understand what happens when your account is deleted:
- Recall that all repositories, forks of private repositories, wikis, issues, pull requests and pages owned by your account will be deleted, and your username will be available for use on GitHub Enterprise Server.
- In the first field, type your GitHub Enterprise Server username or email.
- In the second field, type the phrase from the prompt.