Skip to main content

Reinstating a former member of your organization

Organization owners can add former members to your organization, and choose whether to restore the person's former role, access permissions, forks, and settings.

Organization owners can reinstate a former member of an organization.

About member reinstatement

If a user is removed from your organization in one of the following ways, the user's access privileges and settings are saved for three months.

You can restore the user's privileges if you add them back to the organization within that time frame.

Note: 由于 SAML SSO 强制执行而删除的任何用户都可以通过 SAML 单点登录进行身份验证来重新加入您的组织。 You do not need to invite these users to rejoin. Instead, the user can sign into their personal account, navigate to the organization, and click the banner to authenticate via SAML single sign-on.

When you reinstate a former organization member, you can restore:

  • The user's role in the organization
  • Any private forks of repositories owned by the organization
  • Membership in the organization's teams
  • Previous access and permissions for the organization's repositories
  • Stars for organization repositories
  • Issue assignments in the organization
  • Repository subscriptions (notification settings for watching, not watching, or ignoring a repository's activity)

If an organization member was removed from the organization because they did not use two-factor authentication and your organization still requires members to use 2FA, the former member must enable two-factor authentication before you can reinstate their membership.

Reinstating a former member of your organization

  1. 在 GitHub Enterprise Server 的右上角,单击您的头像,然后单击 Your organizations(您的组织)个人资料菜单中的组织
  2. 单击您的组织名称。 组织列表中的组织名称
  3. 在组织名称下,单击 People(人员)人员选项卡
  1. 在 People(人员)选项卡上,单击 Add member(添加成员)Add member button

  2. 输入您要恢复的人员的用户名,然后单击 Invite(邀请)

  3. Choose whether to restore that person's previous privileges in the organization or clear their previous privileges and set new access permissions, then click Add and reinstate or Add and start fresh. Choose whether to restore privileges

  4. If you cleared the previous privileges for a former organization member, choose a role for the user, and optionally add them to some teams, then click Add member. Role and team options and add member button

Further reading