Skip to main content

Downgrading your GitHub subscription

You can downgrade the subscription for any type of account on GitHub.com at any time.

Downgrading your GitHub subscription

When you downgrade your personal account or organization's subscription, pricing and account feature changes take effect on your next billing date. Changes to your paid personal account or organization subscription does not affect subscriptions or payments for other paid GitHub features. For more information, see "How does upgrading or downgrading affect the billing process?."

Downgrading your personal account's subscription

If you downgrade your personal account from GitHub Pro to GitHub Free, the account will lose access to advanced code review tools on private repositories. For more information, see "GitHub's products."

  1. In the upper-right corner of any page, click your profile photo, then click Settings.

    Settings icon in the user bar

  2. In the "Access" section of the sidebar, click Billing and plans.

  3. Under "Current plan", use the Edit drop-down and click Downgrade to Free. Downgrade to free button

  4. Read the information about the features your personal account will no longer have access to on your next billing date, then click I understand. Continue with downgrade. Continue with downgrade button

If you published a GitHub Pages site in a private repository and added a custom domain, remove or update your DNS records before downgrading from GitHub Pro to GitHub Free, to avoid the risk of a domain takeover. For more information, see "Managing a custom domain for your GitHub Pages site."

Downgrading your organization's subscription

Only organization members with the owner or billing manager role can access or change billing settings for your organization.

If you downgrade your organization from GitHub Team to GitHub Free for an organization, the account will lose access to advanced collaboration and management tools for teams.

If you downgrade your organization from GitHub Enterprise Cloud to GitHub Team or GitHub Free, the account will lose access to advanced security, compliance, and deployment controls. For more information, see "GitHub's products."

Note: If you're currently trialing GitHub Enterprise Cloud, and you don't purchase GitHub Enterprise before the trial ends, your organization will be automatically downgraded to GitHub Free or GitHub Team. For more information, see "Setting up a trial of GitHub Enterprise Cloud."

  1. In the upper-right corner of any page, click your profile photo, then click Settings.

    Settings icon in the user bar

  2. In the "Access" section of the sidebar, click Organizations.

  3. Next to the organization, click Settings. The settings button

  4. If you are an organization owner, in the "Access" section of the sidebar, click Billing and plans.

  5. Under "Current plan", use the Edit drop-down and click the downgrade option you want. Downgrade button

  6. Read the information about the features your organization will no longer have access to on your next billing date, then click I understand. Downgrade my organization. Downgrade button

Downgrading an organization's subscription with legacy per-repository pricing

Only organization members with the owner or billing manager role can access or change billing settings for your organization.

If your organization is using a legacy per-repository billing plan, you can switch to per-user pricing at any time. You will not be able to switch back to repository pricing once you've upgraded to per-user pricing. For more information, see "Switching your organization from per-repository to per-user pricing."

  1. In the upper-right corner of any page, click your profile photo, then click Settings.

    Settings icon in the user bar

  2. In the "Access" section of the sidebar, click Organizations.

  3. Next to the organization, click Settings. The settings button

  4. If you are an organization owner, in the "Access" section of the sidebar, click Billing and plans.

  5. Under "Subscriptions", select the "Edit" drop-down, and click Edit plan. Edit Plan dropdown

  6. Under "Billing/Plans", next to the plan you want to change, click Downgrade. Downgrade button

  7. Enter the reason you're downgrading your account, then click Downgrade plan. Text box for downgrade reason and downgrade button

Removing paid seats from your organization

To reduce the number of paid seats your organization uses, you can remove members from your organization or convert members to outside collaborators and give them access to only public repositories. For more information, see:

  1. In the upper-right corner of any page, click your profile photo, then click Settings.

    Settings icon in the user bar

  2. In the "Access" section of the sidebar, click Organizations.

  3. Next to the organization, click Settings. The settings button

  4. If you are an organization owner, in the "Access" section of the sidebar, click Billing and plans.

  5. Under "Current plan", use the Edit drop-down and click Remove seats. remove seats dropdown

  6. Under "Remove seats", select the number of seats you'd like to downgrade to. remove seats option

  7. Review the information about your new payment on your next billing date, then click Remove seats. remove seats button

Further reading