Deleting your personal account removes all repositories, forks of private repositories, wikis, issues, pull requests, and pages owned by your account. Issues and pull requests you've created and comments you've made in repositories owned by other users will not be deleted. Your resources and comments will become associated with the ghost user.
Note: If your enterprise manages your account and you sign into GitHub.com through your company's identity provider (IdP), you cannot delete your account. For more information, see "About Enterprise Managed Users."
When you delete your account we stop billing you. The email address associated with the account becomes available for use with a different account on GitHub.com. After 90 days, the account name also becomes available to anyone else to use on a new account.
If you're the only owner of an organization, you must transfer ownership to another person or delete the organization before you can delete your personal account. If there are other owners in the organization, you must remove yourself from the organization before you can delete your personal account.
For more information, see the following articles.
- "Transferring organization ownership"
- "Deleting an organization account"
- "Removing yourself from an organization"
Before you delete your personal account, make a copy of all repositories, private forks, wikis, issues, and pull requests owned by your account. For more information, see "Backing up a repository."
Warning: Once your personal account has been deleted, GitHub cannot restore your content.
In the left sidebar, click Account.
At the bottom of the Account Settings page, under "Delete account", click Delete your account. Before you can delete your personal account:
- If you're the only owner in the organization, you must transfer ownership to another person or delete your organization.
- If there are other organization owners in the organization, you must remove yourself from the organization.
In the "Make sure you want to do this" dialog box, complete the steps to confirm you understand what happens when your account is deleted:
- Recall that all repositories, forks of private repositories, wikis, issues, pull requests and GitHub Pages sites owned by your account will be deleted and your billing will end immediately, and your username will be available to anyone for use on GitHub Enterprise Cloud after 90 days.
- In the first field, type your GitHub Enterprise Cloud username or email.
- In the second field, type the phrase from the prompt.